Continuing the series on lacrosse penalties, here is another rule I wasn’t aware of – as many fans may not be. While a defensive player can check, poke, and hit, the offensive player cannot check back – they have to take it like a man. If the offensive player does check back they will lose possession.
Often times I’ll notice players away from the ball pushing off and checking. So, does this rule strictly apply to the offensive player with possession of the ball? Furthermore, if an offensive player is checked and a loose ball ensues can anyone check until one team gets possession?